Intolerance Lab

Visit our page for more information on Easy Affordable at Home Intolerance Testing

Foods that contain Casein list

Foods that contain Casein list

Here is a Casein intolerance food to avoid list for you. If you have a casein intolerance or allergy, this will be a very handy reference. As Casein is a protein found in mammals’ milk, the list is comprised of mainly dairy foods. However, it can lurk in other foods that may use powder milk or other dairy as ingredients, so check all labels carefully.

If you would like to know more in-depth information about Casein intolerance, head to our article titled ‘Casein FAQ’, where we discuss what casein is, what it does in the body, and what you can do once you have been diagnosed with a casein intolerance.

Foods that contain casein


• Dairy Milk in all its forms. This includes skim milk, full fat milk and everything in between.
• Butter
• Ghee
• Margarine and other dairy spreads
• Yogurt, all types made with dairy milk
• All types of cheese
• Cheese spreads
• Ice cream
• Gelato if it is dairy
• Cream. Normal cream, whipped cream, sour cream etc.
• Custard
• Milk powder. This includes all foods that may have milk powder as an ingredient. Things like cakes, cookies, crackers, bars etc.
• Some non-dairy coffee creamers and flavourings also have casein, you must check the ingredients list thoroughly on all premade foods.
• Any cheese flavoured chips, crackers, sauces etc
• Chocolate
• Some processed meats may have traces of casein if dairy is used in their production
• Hot dogs may also have milk product in them
• Tinned tuna sometimes has casein, check the label
• Baby formulas
• Anything that says ‘lactic acid’ or ‘artificial flavouring’ may have casein. If you want to be 100% sure, call the manufacturer to check.
• Foods that say dairy free on the label do not automatically mean casein free.
• Caseinate listed as an ingredient means it contains casein
• Lollies and chewing gum may also contain dairy, and therefore casein
• Some medications use dairy as an ingredient. Check with your pharmacist.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *